Hobart Welders
Home » Weld Talk
Weld Talk Message Boards - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Decision on a basic ac/dc tig machine?

Hey feller's, I just need expierienced opinion's on 3 machines, Miller& hobart 185 version's and (forgive me, the everlast machine) but money is tight and have saved enough for the everlast . I do not weld for a living, just a sideline to make a little fishjng money. I have miller 212 with spoolgun and hobart ac/dc sticke, I need something for repairing thin aluminum flat bottom boat's, we have a bunch of um in mississippi, so I need small ac/dc/ tig ,but I still want a quality machine, prob'ly already know the answer just need apush one way or the other. thank you for your opinion's.
    Miller 212/3035 spool gun Hobart stick mate ac/dc oxy-act HTP 625 micro-cut plasma(12 yr. old son campbellhausfeld Mig) ,HayBudden 75# anvil and custom built coal forge.If I can't build it I don't want it.

inverter machines Thermal Arc 185 or HTP221

transformer machines Lincoln precision tig 225 or miller syncrowave 200
    Last edited by brucer; 12-02-2011 at 10:17 AM.

+1 on Brucers post. There are other options before going to off shore manufacturers. Enjoy and welcome to the forum
    Bob
    Enough tools to do anything, common sense to use em properly.
    Big nasty scar, no kidneys, so you think you got issues?

Thumbs up

I looked at the miller dynasty, lincoln invertec and the htp 201(did not really considered thermal arc)

I knew that I wanted a inverter machine.

As soon as they came out with the htp 221 dv I bought it and been very satisfied.(good company to deal with)

a friend of mine has a welding shop and has lincoln 185 and 225 and have been rock solid for years.
    HTP invertig 221 DV
    Lincoln 3350 viking ad
    Next... Hypertherm powermax 65
    Miller Passport Plus with spoolgun
    Lincoln Tombstone
    Grizzly 79" Belt sander
    Firepower Oxy/acetylene
    Ingersoll rand 2 stage comp.