Hobart Welders
Home » Weld Talk
Weld Talk Message Boards - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    54

    Question Miller S32P wire feeder

    Hello friends.. My first Miller wire feeder. I bought on E-bay a S32P suitcase wire feeder.. In real good shape with gas valve. One question. In the rear of the feeder is a 3 prong plug..in an ampernol connection. Looks to be factory.. What is it for..????????????????????????????? I thought the 32 got its power from the line voltage of the welder output.. and is there an internal contactor to de-energize the gun when the trigger is not pulled.. like my Hobart Hefty feeder???
    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    harwich, ma.
    Posts
    455
    i believe that is the optional secondary contactor that can run off 115VAC to give you "cold wire".
    chip

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    54

    Question 3 wires..

    You might be right.. There is a black, white and green wire.. but the 3 small round pins in a triangular pattern confuses me.. I'm new to Miller.. Most of my equipment is Hobart or Airco..
    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    harwich, ma.
    Posts
    455
    if you can wait till monday i'm sure the guys at miller will give you the correct answer.
    chip

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    54

    Question S32

    SCOTT can you hear me now????????????????? can you hear me now?????????????????
    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Central Oregon
    Posts
    1,826
    Wrong Scott,but I think Chip got the right answer.I had a s32-s feeder that needed the extra contactor box.That kind of kills the ease of use deal.The newer style s32p you can get a internal contactor setup.It would be nice if you could retro fit one?It would be nice if yours had one built in.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    54

    Question 3 wires in S32P

    Hi Scott.. So what you are saying is Miller had a 3 pin. in a triangular shape. in the middle of a round plug that was 115 volt to control an internal contactor?? Kind of takes the P out of portable.. Where would I get the matching plug for it?? or should I take it to a welding supply shop to see what I now own??? If I'm wrong.. and put 115 volts to a circuit board... well..........don't know.. On another note.. I just bought an old 10E.. I was told they were an old workhorse of Miller.. soooooo I gots to know.. All Good.. Mike
    Mike

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    harwich, ma.
    Posts
    455
    wish the guys from Miller would see this but, i think you only have to use it if your machine doesn't have an outside contactor and you want "coldwire". otherwise just hook up your work, electrode, and voltage sensor and weld away!
    chip

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    54

    Question S32P

    Ok.. I looked inside again.. and put my glasses on.. The 3 pin connector is an ampernol AN3057-3.. and if I read the wiring diagram correctly.. "Remote voltage control".. The colors are right.. black.. white .. green... I do not see a 115 volt contactor anywhere in the unit.. There is a 24 volt relay sitting on top of the Miller black box.. Guess I'll see if it runs.. hot or cold tip.. and go from there.. All ears... Mike
    Mike

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    appleton wi
    Posts
    3
    Hi
    I am Dan Woods with Miller service. Rock wanted me to sign up and reply.

    I think the 3 pin plug is something someone add to this machine to get remote voltage control. For more info on this product I would call us here at Miller 920-735-4505. Have the feeder in front of you when you call if at all possible.

    Dan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    54

    Wink The ANSWER

    Hello my friends in welding land.. A call to the factory answered the question. It is a 24 volt input for the gas solenoid.. Now we know... Thanks for trying..and helping.. The guys at Miller are great at information.. Good to know you have support.... even when its an old unit..
    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •