PDA

View Full Version : 4 Wheeler Hitch

ross932c
05-14-2004, 10:19 PM
My neighbour has a 4 wheeler tha the uses to pull wagans around with and the hithc that came pre attached was kind of short, and when turning corners the wagons hit the tires and it was kind of to low to the ground. So he asked my to make him up a new one. HE pulls grain wagons, trailers and alot of heavy stuff, I'm not a pro welder but I'm better then they are so I was going to make him one but don't know if this is something I will be able to make. I will use a 235 Amp stick welder.

I am pretty confident in my welding abilities wo that isnt much of a problem, I was just wondering what size of steel, type ans sive and what I should use for this hitch. What is usually for hitches?

Thnanks.

highnoon
05-15-2004, 12:47 AM
I added a hitch to a atv that did'nt even offer one as an option.
You have the advantage that at least you have a hitch to build from. Some of the things you need to consider is the weight that will be pulled and tongue weight. If you extend the hitch it will add more leverage and could break the rear end housing. On the job I did this was a concern so I ran support rods from the new hitch to points on the atv where the rear rack mounted. That puts the tongue weight further back on the atv and gets the pressure off of the axle mount. By doing this you can also raise the ball height to the height you need. If you raise the ball height to much you may consider running support rods forward as well to a good anchor point.

Sandy
05-15-2004, 01:02 AM
Originally posted by highnoon
.............That puts the tongue weight further back on the atv and gets the pressure off of the axle mount. By doing this you can also raise the ball height to the height you need. If you raise the ball height to much you may consider running support rods forward as well to a good anchor point.