PDA

View Full Version : 220V Extension Cord - How Long?

alienbogey
09-24-2008, 11:37 AM
I'm a welding newbie who has been looking for a Mig welder for learning to weld and get a few projects done.

Like many, my garage only has 110 because when I built it, like a fool, I didn't plan ahead and run another cable for 220.

However, the good news is that I have 50 amp service 125' away at an RV pad I put in for my parents.

So, finally, the question: Can I run 125' of extension cord from the source to the garage and not hurt the equipment?

If it helps, I'm looking at a used package of a Millermatic 175 that includes 50' of 10/3 extension cord already.

Thanks in advance.

robsd
09-24-2008, 12:55 PM
It should work fine. If you are cheap like me I would look at the largest romex type solid wire I could find. Maybe 8, not sure, probably would work since you are probably not maxing out the amperage on the machine. When done roll it up in a 4' loop and hand it on the wall.

A larger multi strand wire is gonna cost ya. Isn't that stuff running near a buck a foot and you need 375'.

For my sticks I run 10ga with no problems, but I don't run them maxed out and the cord is only 30' long.

Rob

Oops, reread that last sentence, you only need 225', I'd certainly use that 10/3 the last 50'.

Wyoming
09-24-2008, 01:11 PM
Attached or separate garage? How difficult would it be to run another circuit in? Romax isn't designed for anything other than permanent installation...though that doesn't stop some from using it otherwise.

It may be cheaper to run another service in and be done with it than spending almost the same amount, or more, on an extension cord you wouldn't need if you did...and you already have an extension cord for those times you need one. The Owner's Manual for your machine lists a maximum recommended input conductor length of 66'.

MAC702
09-24-2008, 02:15 PM
NM cable (Romex) is illegal for extension cords for a good reason. Please don't do that.