PDA

View Full Version : How to wire extension cord to go from welder to generator?

cybordolphin
02-15-2007, 03:12 AM
I want to run my H 187 welder from my generator.

Does anyone know how to wire in the connectors? I plan on using 8/3 wire. But I forsee a problem. The welder takes a 3 conductor wire. However the generator has a 4 wire inlet.

The inlet on the extension cord will have to be a 6-50r. The plug on the extension cord will have to be a L14-30 though to plug into the generator.

How do I go from a 4 conductor inlet on the generator to the 3 conductor wire to the generator?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Sberry
02-15-2007, 07:49 AM
You do not use the neutral wire, 2 hots and the ground.

cybordolphin
02-16-2007, 01:33 PM
Thanks... that is what I was thinking. It looks like I am just going to buy 8/4 and drop the neutral. ****.... wire is awful expensive these days! What's up with THAT?

Dodgepu360
02-16-2007, 04:01 PM
I am not an electrician but why not just use a 3 conductor wire and leave the pin for the 4th wire on the 6-50p disconnected?

as opposed to have one wire in the cord that is not conected to anything on one end

Sberry
02-16-2007, 04:04 PM
You can do that, 3 wire will work, he could conceivably use the 4 wire at some future point for a house feed if needed.

hankj
02-16-2007, 04:19 PM
I am not an electrician but why not just use a 3 conductor wire and leave the pin for the 4th wire on the 6-50p disconnected?

There is no "fourth" pin on a 6-50R or P. Just 3. Two hot. One ground.

3-wire cable is all that's needed for the generator to welder connection.

Hank

Dodgepu360
02-16-2007, 06:21 PM
does the L14-30 have 4 pins?

Sberry
02-16-2007, 07:13 PM
Si,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

hankj
02-16-2007, 10:42 PM
does the L14-30 have 4 pins?

Yup. The NEMA 14-30 configuration is called "3-wire grounding", which mean it lands an equipment ground (green), a neutral, and two hots.