PDA

View Full Version : Pile Buck, Thinking of joining the Pile Drivers

gwmotorsports
01-13-2006, 03:38 PM
First let me tell you a little bit about myself. Im 19 years old and I've been welding for about 2-3 years. The welding training in British Columbia consists of 3 different levels: C, B, and then A. For each level you need to complete the in school hours combined with a certain amount of work hours to reach a years worh of experience before you complete the level, and can move on to the next. Theres no aprentiship for welding though, and you can stop your training whenever you want or take as long as you want to advance to the next level. A year ago I started my level C which was 7 months long and also completed half of the level B because I finished level C early. After that I got a job working for a Tug and Barge company and spent 5 months there. I went back to school and finished the 2nd half of level B in 8 weeks. It was right around christmas time when I finished level B, and Ive been somewhat looking for a job since then.

A few days ago a friend told me that the Pile Drivers Union were looking for welders so I went down there to see what they had to offer. They told me that to get started I would need to get certified for CWB (Canadian Welding Bureau) flux core - self sheilding, and stick. Once I have that, and take there hazerdous materials and safety course I would be able to sign on with them. However its a 3 year aprentiship, the first and second year have 6 weeks of carpentry, and the 3rd year has a 8 week course on Pile Driving / Bridge Building. So its not all welding that I would be doing, I would have to do other types of construction work as well. The starting wage is $23.40/hour and that is 70% of journyman wage.