PDA

View Full Version : Flux Wire Question

ARCH
07-17-2005, 08:57 PM
I am VERY new to MIG and flux core welding so please take it easy on me. I am curious if there is a way to minimize some of the smoke cloud that is generated with flux core wire by using compressed air (or CO2/C25) so that it is not so difficult to see the puddle. I'm guessing that air pressure would need to be lower that what would be used for CO2 or C25? Has anyone tried compressed air? I have burned many pounds of stick rods but have never had the difficulty seeing the puddle the way I am having difficulty with flux core wire. I have tried .030 in the MM135 and .035 and .045 in the Hefty. I do have a bottle of C25 but didn't think about turning it on while using flux wire. duh Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Arch

steelhanger
07-17-2005, 09:13 PM
Smoke is the signature of self-shield, not much you can do.
You have some good sized equipment,and should not have any problem running 'the good stuff'.
Ask your supplier for a roll of Tri-Mark 777 (triple 7) .045 in.
This is a nice all around gas shielded flux core wire.(not too much smoke).

James D. Clark
07-17-2005, 09:14 PM
Hi Arch. Now, why would we want to take it easy on you. If we are mean and nasty to start with, everything after that is a piece of cake. :D Nah, just teasing you. :p Welcome aboard. Welcome to flux core. I was warned about it before I every used it. It is smoky to say the least. You need a small fan to blow air past your helmet to take the smoke away or a vent fan to pull the smoke away. Keep you helmet (your head) off to the side of the smoke flume. Don't keep your head directly over the welding. Easier said than done, but you want to keep from breathing all welding fumes anyway so it's good to avoid getting into the welding fumes anyway.

The gas from your welding gas isn't going to clear the smoke. Not unless you are VERY RICH. :rolleyes:

MAC702
07-17-2005, 09:15 PM