PDA

View Full Version : 7018 root

GL59
07-15-2005, 10:21 PM
Are there situations where a 7018 root pass in pipe would be used, or where a code would call for it? Thanks for any input.

houlibar
07-16-2005, 02:18 AM
I don't have any pipe cert but I read in the Lincoln book that lo-hi rod can be used for the root if there is a backup ring in the pipe. BTW I have never seen a backup ring, so I don't know what it's supposed to look like. But it seems like it would cause flow restriction in the pipe. Maybe that's why I've never seen them use in oilfields or plants.

e016332
07-16-2005, 04:30 AM
I'm no expert but I have never heard of using 7018 for root pass, also never saw or heard of a backing ring being used in process piping. I have saw backing rings used on sectional steel pipe pilings. These were being installed under/ very close to an exsisting pipe rack so a reg pile driver could not be uesd.. The pilings were like 12" pipe welded together every 6 to 8 ft. and drove on down. I do not recall what rod was used for these pilings.

lgjhn
07-16-2005, 08:26 AM