PDA

View Full Version : floor pans

shawny2087
12-24-2004, 11:11 PM
im replacing my floor pans in my 88' dodge daytona turbo with 22ga weldable sheet metal and im kinda new to welding but im using an HH140 with C25 gas and .024(should i be using .030?) wire and id like to know what would be easyer and stronger for me? butt welding the new metal to the car floor or a lap weld and what would be the best settings to use

Planet X
12-25-2004, 12:37 AM
Lap joint.

evaporator
12-25-2004, 01:04 AM
Lap joint, plus you can pre-position that joint with some sheet metal screws (then remove after) or pop rivets to get it just right. You could punch holes sround the perimeter and do plug welds, also. Knock as much of that rust back (Flap Discs on angle grinder and wire wheel) as you can, and I'm always concerned about new rust in the overlapped seam, so seal the **** out of it, top and bottom, when you are finished. I've put angle iron across the opening to stiffen up the new panel, also. Your most professional patch will be the butt joint, but we're talking lots of blow-through until you develop a "touch". The alignment clamps you can get at Harbor Freight work pretty good for holding the patch in while maintaining a 1/16" gap. I personally like to use a couple of their magnets, spot, move 'em , align, spot again, etc.

dda52
12-25-2004, 01:23 AM
.024 is the wire you want to use. It'll be better with the real thin stuff.

shawny2087
12-25-2004, 12:24 PM
ok ill stick with .024 and maybe a lap joint will be better for me but ive heard that when dong a lap joint moisture can become stuck in between the joint and rust out the floor again. if i seal up up well with like POR15 then tar would that pervent it??

12-25-2004, 12:44 PM
I would suggest butting the panels rather than lapping. Rust will form between the two pieces as you were told already. POR15 is a great product but you may not get full coverage between the lapped joint and still ruin your work.